Skip to content

The Vig’s Pozole

January 17, 2010

There is a great neighborhood restaurant/bar about a mile from us, called The Vig .  The self proclaimed Modern Tavern has a nice mid century modern feel on the inside and a terrific patio, replete with an outdoor bar, fireplace, and bocce court. 

Today was the day of the local annual marathon here in Phoenix.  For residents that means one thing – forget about trying to go anywhere by car.  So Jen, Ethan and I hopped on our bikes and met up with some friends for lunch at The Vig. 

Arguably one of the best items offered here, isn’t on the menu: their pork pozole soup, aka pozole rojo.  I guess after frequenting there enough you start to learn about the hidden menu – kind of like “animal style” at In-N-Out I suppose.  The red chilies used in cooking it impart an intense brick red coloring.  For a great take on pozole verde check out this recipe on filf ( Pozole Verde ).   

Well I’m in a pozole rut right now.  Every time we head there I just have to order a cup or bowl.  With the required warm flour tortilla the bowl is a meal in itself.  The chef at the Vig really nailed this dish.  It is a perfect blend of chiles, slow roasted pork, hominy, oregano, garlic and cilantro.  It has the right amount of kick to.  It is so good, that it is one of those dishes that I am just too afraid to try and make at home – because you know it just won’t be the same.  So for now when I am in the mood for pozole I’ll hop on my bike and ride over to The Vig.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. mom2 permalink
    January 18, 2010 7:49 am

    Great write up. Does the Phoenix paper have a food section? Why not try to sell your write ups to them…..I always want to go to the restuarant after reading your stories. or sell it to the restaurant….

  2. jpassen permalink
    January 18, 2010 9:34 am

    While infrequently, I do get to Phoenix and next time I’m in town, I’m hittin’ up The Vig for some off- the-menu pozole rojo.

    I liken your pozole rut to my current pho habit.

    Nice post.

    filf

  3. Lenny Rubin permalink
    January 19, 2010 10:01 pm

    Thanks for the great article and for being a guest of ours at The Vig. I am the chef there and would be happy to share the recipe with you……on one condition……you continue to be a “FOV” (Friend Of the Vig)

    • vesperbistro permalink*
      January 20, 2010 7:27 pm

      Thanks for the feedback Chef Rubin! You developed a great menu. I certainly accept that condition and would love for you to share the recipe… I’ll send you an email. Thanks again!

  4. December 26, 2012 11:24 pm

    The Vig has the most incredible pozole soup! I would absolutely loved to have a cpy of this recipe….I tried to locate Lenny Rubin, but I have had no luck….is there any chance you would consider sharing this recipe? (or Lenny Rubin’s email address so I may make a formal request)

    Excellent article!

Leave a comment